Presentation at CHI'23

I presented my study Overcoming Algorithm Aversion: A Comparison between Process and Outcome Control at CHI. One question I received was about why we think allowing people to change inputs into the algorithm would make them less likely to choose the algorithms. I have some theories about how people would form strong theories/causal models and when they perceive the predictions to be different from their mental model they would feel much more strongly against the models. This is something to test out in the future. I met some awesome researchers from Netherland, Switzerland, Germany, and NYU (not a country). It was fun to explore Hamburgh where I accidentally stayed in Reeperbahn.

Lingwei Cheng
Lingwei Cheng
PhD Candidate in Public Policy and Management

My research interests include the socio-economic impact of algorithm and algorithmic fairness in public policy.